How do I update a new version of an existing Resource?

This article reviews updating a Resource file with a new version. This method retains all the metadata associated with the file along with all the links to items in the Catalog. It simply replaces the current file with a new version and does not require you to update any Pages or connections to the Resource that have been made. End users will not have to sync their Catalog to see the new Resource. The next time they are connected to the internet the Resource will automatically update. This is handy for collateral with updated pricing or branding.

There are 2 ways to update a Resource to replace an existing one:

1. From a file stored on your computer

2. From a URL that exists on a website

2. Click "Edit" for the Resource you wish to update

Select the Edit button next to the Resource you want to update

3. Updating from a file stored on your computer

3.1. Locate the "Resource" section

The Resource section is located in the lower right side of the screen. It is below the thumbnail section.

Locate the Resource edit box and choose your method of updating

3.2. Click "Update from Computer"

3.3. Click "Browse" and select your file (1). Once file is selected, click "Upload Replacement" (2)

3.3.1. Please wait a few minutes for the Resource to update

To verify the file was successfully updated, you can go back to the update page (Edit > Update) to view the filename or compare file sizes by looking at the grid view on the Resources tab. You can also download the Resource to ensure it is the updated version.

4. Updating from a URL that exists on a website

4.1. Copy the website URL for the Resource and paste into the Source url field

The URL should direct you to only the Resource. The Resource should open when you navigate to the URL.

An error message will occur if the URL is not compatible.

4.2. Click "Save Changes"

4.3. The Resource will update - this may take a few minutes

To verify the file was successfully updated, you can go back to the update page (Edit > Update) to view the filename or compare file sizes by looking at the grid view on the Resources tab. You can also download the Resource to ensure it is the updated version.

5. Once the revised file is saved, your FatStax users will see the new file when they sync Resources (either in the background or manually)

Note: Files are assigned permalink URLs which do not change when resources are revised. URLs are the links that are included in the FatStax emails sent to customers. Once the file is changed in CloudStax, customers clicking on the URL in the email will be directed to the latest version of the file.

 

0 Comments

Add your comment

E-Mail me when someone replies to this comment